The conference room of plush Golden Tulip Hotel came alive over with the maiden edition of the prestigious GODiT Ghana Music Awards (GGMA) dubbed ‘GODiT Ghana Executive Dinner and Awards’. The event, which was aimed at awarding hardworking musicians, brought together many artistes and entertainment moguls who dined and wined amidst many top-notched performances from the artistes. Artistes who performed with the Safoa Band are Epixode, AK Songstress, Highlife sensational Bless of Chocho Mucho fame and the Bobolebobo hit-maker Evangelist IK Aning. The rest are Zylofon Music signee Obininii, Quophi Nyarko and O’lay Original.

Epixode put up such electrifying DanceHall performance sending the audience into standing and singing along with shouts of excitement. Quophi Nyarko came through with his audience-engaging poetry pieces extolling the virtues of the Ashaiman “hustler” and touching on such sensitive societal ills in his ‘The Earth Must Hear’ piece.

The ever-sensational gospel ‘soldier’ started off with a worship piece and crowned his performance by throwing the audience in a joyous singing of his hit track, ‘Bobolebobo’. The young highlife artiste who has been described by many as an enigmatic artiste whose singles have enthralled many highlife lovers both locally and internationally simply known as Bless did a live band rendition of his recent hit song, ‘Chocho Mucho’.

The event organiser, GODiT Ghana, awarded all the musician awardees beautifully customised glass with gold plaited GODiT designed plaques. Speaking at the event, the Executive Project Coordinator, Benjamin Obeng-Agyei, showed appreciation to the audience who throng the venue to lend support for the uplift Ghana music. He also briefly underscored the fact that GGMA has come to stay with the promise of giving hardworking musicians their due to excel in their craft.

He touched on the uniqueness of the GGMA scheme saying that eighty percent (80%) of the total pushes (downloads or sales) of the song will be given to the artistes. This, he asserted that is a new and refreshing development which is contrary to the current dispensation where award organisers through the telecommunication companies take a chunk of the voting revenue.

Below is the full list of the Categories and Awards winners:

1. Most Pushed (Gospel Song of the Year) – Evang. IK Aning
2. Most Pushed (Hiplife song of the Year) – Kwani Kwani by Tic
3. Most Pushed (Afropop Song of the Year) – CCTV by King Promise
4. Most Pushed (Afropop Rap Song of the Year) – Ahye Me by Obibini
5. Most Pushed (Reggae Song of the Year) – Masaany
6. Most Pushed (DanceHall Song of the Year) – Worsu by Olay Original
7. Most Pushed (Newbie Artiste of the Year) – Wendy Shay
8. Most Pushed (Newbie Song of the Year) – I Do by Asaase ft. Kelvyn Boy
9. Most Pushed (Discovery of the Year) – YBlaQ
10. Most Pushed (Best Collaboration Ghana) – King Promise ft. Mugeez and Sarkodie
11. Most Pushed (Best Collaboration Africa) – King Promise ft. WizKid
12. Most Pushed (Highlife song of the Year) – Chocho Mucho by Bless
13. Most Pushed (Artiste of the Year) – King Promise
14. Most Pushed (Best Vocalist Male/Female) – KiDi
15. Most Pushed (Spoken Word Artiste of the Year) – Quophi Nyarko
16. Most Pushed (Hipop Song of the Year) – How Much by Medikal
17. Most Pushed (Patriotic Song of the Year) – Ghana Beyond Aid by Father Collins
18. Most Pushed (Song of the year) – Wish Me Well by Kuami Eugene

The event was sponsored by Golden Tulip Hotel, Creative Media, iNTEGRALE Studios, AugustLiveGh Media, Obi-Quest Multimedia Studios, Cee Jay Multimedia and media partners include Zylofon TV, Zylofon FM, and ETV. The programme was strictly by invitation.

Check out photos: